Presse / 2011

Dienstag, 25. Oktober 2011

Fans choose Lena as the Best European Act!

Now Lena will compete against Britney Spears, BIGBANG, Restart and Abdelfattah Grini.

What a success! First Lena won the 2011 MTV EMAS award "Best German Act" and now her fans have even made here the "Best European Act". She has thus become Europe's representative in the competition for the "World Wide Act". MTV and VIVA will be broadcasting the 18th award ceremony of the MTV EMAs live from Belfast on November 6th starting at 8:00 p.m.

MTV is now presenting the five nominees in the brand new category "World Wide Act" at this year's MTV EMAs. In the past five weeks, fans around the world had the opportunity to vote on their favourite regional artist online. Lena first won the German vote for the "Best German Act" and is now also the winner of the European vote. She came out ahead of big names like Adele and Alexandra Stan.
"The best in Europe! I think I'm having Déjà-vu! And I have the best European fans ever to thank for this! You all are the best. And now we're going for it all: so please keep voting for me, now it's about the World Wide Act!", said Lena.

This award automatically qualifies Lena for the "World Wide Act" and makes her Europe's representative against four other nominees from various regions: Britney Spears for North America, BIGBANG for Asia, Abdelfattah Grini for Africa/India/Middle East and Restart for Latin America.

The host of the show will be the singer-actress Selena Gomez.
The "World Wide Act" category with super-star nominees from around the world celebrates the entire bandwidth and variety of music that MTV has to offer. Fans can vote for their favourite artist at until Friday, November 4th at 11:59 p.m. The winner will be announced live at the show in Belfast.

About the 2011 MTV EMAs
This year's MTV EMAs will include live performances by Lady Gaga, Bruno Mars, Coldplay, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jessie J, LMFAO, Snow Patrol und Jason Derulo. The Jersey Shore stars Nicole "Snooki" Polizzi and Jenni "JWOWW" Farley as well as Awkward star Ashley Rickards have been confirmed to give the laudations. World star Lady Gaga is leading the list of nominees this year with six nominations followed closely by Katy Perry and Bruno Mars, each with four nominations. Adele, Justin Bieber and Thirty Seconds To Mars have each been nominated three times. Other nominees include Foo Fighters, Snoop Dogg, My Chemical Romance, Jennifer Lopez, LMFAO, Jessie J, Beyoncé, Coldplay, Eminem, Arcade Fire, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Far East Movement, Kanye West, Linkin Park, Wiz Khalifa and Kings of Leon.
The annual MTV EMAs reach a potential target audience of 1.2 billion people via the global MTV network consisting of over 60 broadcasters, which are received by 640 million households. Executive Producers of the 2011 MTV EMAs 2011 are Richard Godfrey and Bruce Gillmer. Further information about the MTV EMAs are found on the EMA Facebook page or from EMA on Twitter. Press material is available at

Zurück zur Übersicht