Press / 2012

Tuesday 28 February 2012

Roman Lob is "Our Star for Baku" - 2.19 million viewers watched the final of the preliminary round for the ESC on Das Erste

Roman Lob is "Our Star for Baku": In a thrilling final on Das Erste on Thursday evening, February 16th, viewers voted for him and the song "Standing Still" by Jamie Cullum, Steve Robson and Wayne Hector. The chart positions confirmed the voting: "Standing Still" is No. 1 in the iTunes Charts and No. 3 in the german Top 100 Single Charts.
Roman Lob (21 from Neustadt/Wied) will represent Germany on May 26th at the Eurovision Song Contest 2012 in Azerbaijan. Ornella de Santis (27 from Offenburg) came second in the contest.

A total 2.19 million viewers watched the programme, with a peak of 2.83 million. The market share amongst 14 - 29 years old was 10.0 percent (0.35 million), amongst 14 - 49 year olds 8.9 percent (1.13 million). The overall market share was 6.9 percent.

The jury for "Our Star for Baku", a collaboration between Das Erste, ProSieben and the pop and youth radio stations of ARD, was made up of Thomas D as president, "Frida Gold" frontwoman Alina Süggeler, and Stefan Raab. Sandra Rieß and Steven Gätjen presented the eight-show series.

Roman Lob: "I can't describe how it feels to have won the final. It's absolutely crazy. I would like to thank the viewers again for their amazing support. It was a dream that has now come true."

Thomas D: "I am over the moon that Roman Lob applied to "Our Star for Baku". Germany has voted, for the right person!"

Stefan Raab: "With Roman we have found an extremely talented singer who is certainly in with great chances when he represents Germany at the ESC. Thomas D did brilliant work, chose great songs and his production is first class. I wish Roman and Thomas a lot of success in Baku!"

Thomas Schreiber, ARD Entertainment Coordinator: "My best and heartfelt thanks go to our 20 candidates for their brilliant participation in "Our Star for Baku", to the jury for their commitment, to Sandra Rieß and Steven Gätjen who did a great job, and to my colleagues at ProSieben for a friendly, collegial and harmonious partnership.

With Roman and "Standing Still" we have the best prerequisites for the ESC. And with Jamie Cullum we have the support of a renowned and credible songwriter who is looking forward to this project. The ESC and contemporary pop music simply go hand in hand.

Despite very high viewing figures, we achieved a disappointing market share result where the telephone calls in the final are concerned. That is a shame. Now we have to follow the old sporting motto: get back up, do it better and win again."

ProSieben CEO Jürgen Hörner: "I sincerely congratulate our star for Baku, Roman Lob, and wish him the greatest success for the rest of the path to Baku. Germany has found a great artist with a great song, not least thanks to jury president Thomas D and his jurors Alina Süggeler and Stefan Raab. With their credibility and respectful attitude they enable such artists to apply to participate in a casting show. My sincere thanks go to the colleagues at ARD with whom we enjoyed a harmonious partnership in the third year of our collaboration."

Das Erste will show the final of the Eurovision Song Contest live on Saturday, May 26th at 9 p.m.

For interviews with Roman Lob please contact Universal Music:

Press/TV: Friedrich.Kraemer@umusic.com
TV: Anna.Kartes@umusic.com / Ines.Rosenbaum@umusic.com
Press: Thomas.Thyssen@umusic.com
Online: Ian.Hayllar@umusic.com / Udo.Westendorff@umusic.com
Radio Nord / Potsdam: Maik.Tappendorf@t-online.de
Radio West: David.Kupetz@umusic.com
Radio Süd: Claudia.Schwippert@umusic.com
Radio Ost / Berlin: Daniel.Poehlke@umusic.com

More information about the winner, the ESC and the German preliminary round can be found at www.romanlob.de, www.eurovision.de and www.unser-star-für-baku.tv

Back to overview